Getting into an accident anywhere is a scary ordeal, but fortunately if you’re not at fault, you don’t have to pay, right? Wrong. While in many other states this may be true, North Carolina actually requires all drivers to have uninsured motorist coverage. Though controversial, this legal requirement ensures that drivers still have coverage that will pay to cover their damages if the other driver who is at fault does not have insurance. If you live in the Burlington, NC area, the Don Allred Insurance agency has the answers. Keep reading to learn more.
Why Should I Have Uninsured Motorist Coverage?
Like it or not, it’s the law. However, as we already know from the mere existence of uninsured motorist coverage alone, not everyone necessarily follows the law. In fact, between 9 and 10 percent of North Carolina drivers do not have insurance, and this means that you can be out of luck if one of them causes an accident on the road that involves you. Fortunately, having uninsured motorist coverage within your regular auto policy will help keep you protected.
State Insurance Requirements
The good news is that only minimal uninsured motorist coverage is required. The minimum auto insurance requirements overall are $30,000 in Bodily Injury (for each person), $60,000 in total Bodily Injury for all persons and $25,000 for Property Damage. While the state does not dictate specifically just how much is required in uninsured motorist coverage, it is wise to consider potential scenarios to determine how much such an accident could end up costing you. Serving the Burlington, NC area and beyond, the Don Allred Insurance agency is here to evaluate your specifc needs and help you get the coverage you need. Give us a call or drop by our offices today to learn more.