Driving is the primary mode of transportation in the Mebane, Graham and Burlington, North Carolina areas, but the law requires that all motorists there maintain valid auto insurance coverage. At our agency, we know that just any coverage will not do, as state law mandates a minimum amount of liability coverage that every driver must carry. If you are in the market for auto insurance in North Carolina — or are looking to simplify an existing coverage plan, there are some basic state guidelines you must follow for purchase.
North Carolina Auto Insurance Minimums
The minimum amount of auto insurance in North Carolina applies to liability coverage only. The state is a "fault" state, meaning the parties responsible for an accident are also responsible for the medical bills and property repair/replacement costs associated with the accident. All auto insurance policies in the state must provide insurance for property damage with at least $25,000 available per accident. Bodily injury and death benefits must also value $25,000 or more per person, with at least $60,000 available per accident.
Carrying the minimum state-required auto insurance coverage is compliant with the laws of North Carolina, but drivers should view them as starting points. Any medical expenses or repair costs that exceed the values of your insurance policy will still be your legal responsibility. Like other drivers, you may wish to choose to raise your liability limits and also include personal injury protection and collision coverage that will provide protection for yourself and your own vehicle in an accident. Comprehensive coverage is also beneficial if you wish to protect your vehicle against non-accident related damages, such as theft, vandalism and damage from natural disasters.
Finding a North Carolina Auto Insurance Policy
Before you purchase a new insurance policy or renew your existing one, call our office to speak with an independent agent about your coverage options and premiums. We do not work for any particular insurance company, meaning that we can help you get quotes from North Carolina’s leading insurers without any pressure to buy. We want insurers to compete for your business, and we want to help you get the best coverage at the lowest prices. For more information or to get your free quotes today, contact our office at your earliest convenience. We look forward to speaking with you soon!
Whether you are a teen paying for his or her own auto insurance, or you are a parent paying for insurance for your child, finding a great deal for insurance coverage for young drivers is a major concern. However, as you save money on your insurance, you do not want to sacrifice on quality or service. Consider these tips for saving money on Burlington, North Carolina teen auto insurance.
- Make certain you compare what is covered. If it sounds like too good of a deal, it probably is too good of a deal. Read the fine print and make sure you get the coverage you desire.
- Compare apples and apples. If you are comparing insurance from two different companies, make sure that you check out the different features that are or are not included. This goes hand and hand with the other tip. Rates may vary, but they generally will not vary that drastically from one Graham or Mebane insurance agency to the other.
- Work with an independent agent. While you can purchase insurance yourself online, working with an agent gives you an expert on your side that will make sure you are getting a great deal.
- Choose an agent that can run a live comparison. Rates change on a regular basis. What was the right rate yesterday may be invalid today. A great agent can run ive quotes and make sure they find you the best possible deal.
- Check your teen’s auto policy on a regular basis and make sure it does not need adjustments. You will find that the rates vary dramatically from year to year, especially when he or she is still young. Adjust the policy as he ages and you will always get the best possible insurance deal.
As a Burlington independent agent, we are often asked whether North Carolina has mandatory auto insurance requirements for licensing a vehicle? The answer is yes.
According to the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles, all registered owners must keep continuous liability coverage on any vehicles that currently have a valid license plate assigned. Failure to do so can lead to serious fines and/or having your license plate suspended.
It is also important to note that insurance companies are required to report any auto insurance policy cancelations to the Department of Transportation. This includes any lapses in coverage for failure to pay your bill on time. This is often handled by most insurance carriers via a system generated letter, which is then sent to the state. North Carolina keeps track of the number of "lapses" a registered owner has and issues fines accordingly.
The minimum required liability insurance for private vehicles in North Carolina is $30,000 for bodily injury for one person and $60,000 bodily injury for two or more people (to be split accordingly in the event of an accident. You must also carry $25,000 property damage coverage.
We are also often asked whether a person without a driver’s license who does not drive but owns a vehicle needs an auto insurance policy. The answer to this is also yes. According to the state, every registered vehicle must have an auto insurance liability policy. There are no exceptions to this guideline.
Those who own inoperable vehicles have the choice of turning in their license plates, deactivating their registration, and cancelling their liability insurance policy. All surrendered plates must be turned into the state prior to cancelling the insurance policy.
Mebane, Graham, and Burlington residents in need of auto insurance or are looking to find an independent agent may visit our website for more information.
One of the most important things to drivers in or around Burlington, North Carolina is auto insurance. Insurance protects you in case of an accident—keeping you from footing the bill for a car accident that is your fault. However, there is another reason why you may choose to get auto insurance in Graham or Mebane North Carolina—it is the law.
In North Carolina, drivers are required to carry at minimum liability insurance. Liability insurance is what covers the cost of repairs or replacement on the other vehicle or property, if you are in an accident that is your fault. Clearly, this is a very important type of insurance, so it only makes sense that the state chooses to make it mandatory.
You may wonder what the penalty is for driving without proper liability insurance. It can be drastic. If a police officer pulls you over for driving without insurance, you can be hit with a very expensive ticket. Quite often, if you are pulled over for something minor you may get off with a warning. However, if the police officer runs your insurance and realizes that you are not covered, you are going to get hit with that expensive ticket as well as a ticket for driving with no insurance. Additionally, it can be harder to get insurance in the future if you have tickets for not maintaining insurance.
So, what should you do to rectify this situation? For most individuals, the simplest thing to do is to contact an independent agent to go ahead and get that insurance. If you choose the right agent, you can get live quotes and never worry that you are paying too much for your liability insurance coverage—something that will make you rest much easier.