Even though there are no laws in North Carolina that require you to report car accidents to your insurance company in any specific period of time, almost every carrier states in their policy that you should report them as soon as reasonably possible after they occur. Naturally, if you are injured and taken to the hospital, it might take you a few days or a few weeks to call your auto insurance company or independent agent to report the accident, but if you are okay, you should report it that same day or the next morning.
Many people do not want to report a minor accident because they fear that their car insurance rates will go up. You are under no obligation to report a scratch on your bumper because you backed into a pole. However, if you are involved in any auto accident in Burlington with another motorist, it is in your best interest to notify auto your insurance company.
Reporting an accident shortly after it happens is important because your insurer can then take the initial steps to process a claim so you can have the money to repair your vehicle. It protects you against any claims or a possible lawsuit filed against you by the other party involved in the accident.
Under the State laws of North Carolina, certain accidents must be reported to the police. It is mandatory to report all accidents that result in death, bodily injury or property damage in excess of $1,000. You should also be sure to inform your auto insurance company when such accidents happen. If you don’t tell your insurance company about the accident, they will find out from the police.
As your independent agent, we are here to assist you in any way we can. If you have any questions about whether or not you should report an accident, give us a call and we will give you our best advice so you can take the proper action.
Going without home insurance on your Burlington, North Carolina house is not something that you want to do. There are two situations when you can find yourself without home insurance. If you do not pay your premiums or substantially misrepresent facts when buying a policy, your insurance company can cancel your policy. Your home insurance company can also choose not to renew your policy, for any reason, just as long as they give you written notice at least 30 days in advance of your renewal date.
Some homeowners who live in Coastal North Carolina have a very difficult time getting insurance coverage on their home and have to purchase a policy through a special pool of funds managed by the North Carolina Joint Underwriting Association. While this option does not exist in Burlington because it is far from the coast, there are other means to pursue if your previous policy has been canceled.
The first option is to shop around for home insurance coverage with as many different companies as you can find. Not all insurers have the same underwriting requirements and some may be more willing to write a new policy for someone that was canceled in the past. As your independent agent, we can do the work for you and shop around for the coverage you need with multiple home insurance companies.
Another alternative may be to buy two separate policies that can offer you the protection you would get under a standard home policy. You may be able to buy a home insurance policy that covers property damage to your dwelling and then buy a separate policy to protect you against liability claims.
Finally, if your previous home insurance policy has been canceled and you have had no luck finding a state licensed insurance carrier who will write you a policy, there is another option. Surplus line insurers are sometimes able to underwrite policies for people who have had their home insurance canceled because they are not as restricted by North Carolina regulations. Rules about the types of forms and rate filings are relaxed for surplus line insurers so they can charge higher rates and insure people in a higher risk group.
Courses offered by traffic schools in all states is a good thing to do at any age and any time. Traffic schools have made it so convenient to take the course from the comfort of your home in front of your computer. If you live in the Burlington, North Carolina area, call your independent agent for car insurance to find out how taking a traffic school course can affect your car insurance.
Traffic schools, in all states, teach defensive driving techniques to drivers, in all age groups. Many who take a traffic course does so because he or she mistakenly thinks that discounts are offered through the course work. The truth is that traffic courses do not give participants discounts when they have completed the course. However, speak with your independent agent and find out what your insurance company can do for your monthly rate.
Like everything else, premiums are on the rise, and it is difficult for many to keep up with their payments. It is against the law in all states to drive without car insurance. Drivers must buy at least the minimum policy before driving on the road. Many are trying to decrease their insurance rates out of necessity. Taking a traffic school is one way to reduce the cost of premiums.
Call your independent agent today. Speak with an agent regarding details on taking this worthwhile course. Your agent will tell you that traffic school is not a bad thing meant for those who are following directions from the court. It is the very best way for insurance agents to take a second look at their clients and see that they are serious about driving safely on the roads, knowing and following all traffic laws and keeping their driving record clean.
When your auto agent in Burlington, North Carolina, sees how hard you have worked at being the best driver possible on the road the company might reward you with great discounts.
When you decide to change auto insurance, or when you’re getting it for the first time, you might not need it to take effect that day. You can choose the effective date, which could be anything from the next day to a few weeks or even months in the future. Make sure you want the car insurance you’re signing up for, though, so you don’t have to cancel before the auto insurance policy even gets started. It’s also a good idea to make sure that your Burlington, North Carolina insurance agent is clear about any fees or charges you’ll have to pay if you change your mind.
Often, it’s not so much about the location but the car insurance company itself when it comes to whether you’ll pay a fee if you decide to cancel your car insurance before you actually start using the auto insurance policy. By working with an independent agent like us, you can get all of your questions answered. We can look through the list of companies we work with, and help you find a policy that’s just right for you.
If you’re getting new auto insurance as a precaution and might change your mind before the car insurance policy actually starts, be sure to let us know. The more information we have, the more easily we can tailor your auto insurance policy to your specific needs. Most auto insurance companies won’t charge you any fees if you cancel before you start using the insurance, but some might. If you have some uncertainty, you definitely want to avoid the companies that will require you to pay fees if circumstances change for you. It’s not necessary for you to make a bunch of phone calls to get the right information, either. Just come see us, and we’ll take care of it for you.